Posted by: Taylor | August 10, 2007

The Love of God: Devotional Thoughts from 1 John 4:7-12

love-1.jpgI will be sharing a three part devotion discussing the Love of God as seen in 1 John 4:7-12 over the next three days.  In part one, I will discuss How To Love One Another, in part two, What God’s Love Does for Us, and in the third installment I will share Why We Must Love One Another.

The order of these devotions might seem out of order.  Logically, it would seem appropriate to share How To Love One Another after I have already discussed What God’s Love Does for Us and Why We Must Love One Another.  So, why would I place the How To… first?

Because this is the question most of us will ask ourselves immediately after someone has told us to do something, How?  How do I do that?  Yes, we will also want to know the why, and maybe even the “what do I get from this?”  But, I believe most of us will first ask how.

I pray God’s Word will encourage you and that you will grow closer to Christ through it!

Taylor

How To Love One Another

1 John 4:7-12

Focus Verses:  1 John 4:9 & 12

This is how God showed his love among us: He sent his one and only Son into the world that we might live through him…No one has ever seen God; but if we love one another, God lives in us and his love is made complete in us.

Love is a funny thing.  We love ice cream, cars, football teams, and music groups.  All of us love using the word love.  But what does it really mean to love?  Does saying you love someone truly mean that you do?

I remember someone saying “faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead.”  In other words, its great to believe something, but if you never act on that belief, then who’s to say you really believe.  And when it comes to loving someone, who’s to say you really love them unless you show them with your actions.

Many years ago I was having dinner with some friends.  As we ate our meal, an older lady approached us and began to talk to my friends.  “I’ve been sick all week!  Why haven’t you come to see me?”

Tom, the husband, responded, “Aunt Martha, we didn’t know that you were sick.  Are you okay?”

“I am now!  But, you need to come to see me.”

Aunt Martha departed as abruptly as she had arrived.  She had said what she needed.  My wife and I were shocked and surprised.  Tom explained to us that they usually stopped by to see their aunt once a week, but this week they were not able to.  He had called to check on her a few days ago, and she never mentioned that she was sick.

I learned something important that day.  It doesn’t matter how often we tell others we love them; what matters is how often we show them our love.  Words are important, but actions are the proof of our words.

This is what God did for us.  He did not just say, “I love you.”  He showed us His love by sending His Son so we might live through Him.

Real Choices:

God has already shown you His love by sending Jesus.  Now it is your turn.  When we love one another, all people will be able to see God through us.  Who do you need to show the love of God to today?

Digging Deeper:

Read John 15:13.  Love requires sacrifices.  What must you sacrifice to show God’s love to others?

Pray:

Father God, thank you for coming to me to show me your love.  Help me to show my love with my actions to others today.

Responses

  1. […] the first two devotions on 1 John 4:7-12 (How to Love One Another & What God’s Love Does for […]

  2. […] to Love Each Other”  and “What God’s Love Does for Us”, found here: http://sethar.wordpress.com/2007/08/10/the-love-of-god-devotional-thoughts-from-1-john-47-12/ Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  3. […] to Love Each Other”  and “What God’s Love Does for Us”, found here: http://sethar.wordpress.com/2007/08/10/the-love-of-god-devotional-thoughts-from-1-john-47-12/  and here: […]

  4. Thanks for spending some time in order to compose
    “The Love of God: Devotional Thoughts from 1 John 4:7-12 Things Not Seen”.

    Thanks once again -Dominik

    • Thank you for the encouraging word. Pray that God will give me more time to write. Blessings, Taylor.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 257 other followers

