Posted by: Taylor | September 1, 2007

Why We Must Love One Another: Devotional Thoughts from 1 John 4:7-12

passion.jpg

“A picture is worth a thousand words…Seeing is believing…A picture never lies…Preach the Gospel at all times and when necessary use words…”  We are a very visual culture.  Pictures, slide shows, paintings, and visual images communicate far more than words. 

So, why should we love one another?

Because,

“No one has ever seen God; if we love one another, God abides in us and his love is perfected in us.”

1 John 4:12

Did you catch that?  “No one has ever seen God!”  The next part of this verse is where things get exciting.  “IF (or when) we love one another, God abides (dwells) in us and His love is perfected (or made complete) in us.”  Do you see it?  Did you hear what God just did?

No one has ever seen God, but if we love one another, then God dwells in us.

Can other people see you?  Yes.

If God dwells in you, then could others possible see Jesus in you too?  Yes.

If others can see God in you, then isn’t that kind of like seeing God?  Yes.

WOW!  We have the ability and responsibility to help others see the invisible God!

Why must we love one another?  So the world can see the invisible God!

Real Choices:

How can you be a visual image of the love of God today?  Remember when God desired to show us His love He sent Jesus to die on the cross for our sins.  What a great visual image…service, selflessness, and sacrifice…all to show us His love so that we could see the invisible God.  How about you?  Who around you might need to see the invisible God through your love for them and others?

Digging Deeper:

Read John 13:34-35, and then consider the number of times that Jesus instructed His disciples with a “new command.”  I believe you will find it seldom which highlights the significance of the command.  Does your family or community know you are a disciple of Christ by your love?

Pray:

Jesus make me a portrait of your love today.  God abide in me as You love others through me, and let people see You, the invisible God, in me for your glory and their salvation.  Praise be to God our Father.  Amen!

Read the first two devotions on 1 John 4:7-12 (How to Love One Another & What God’s Love Does for Us).

Copyright © August 2007 by Taylor W. Kendrick

All rights reserved. No part of this article may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including photocopying and recording, or by any information storage and retrieval system, without permission in writing from the author.

Responses

  1. For many years my church has celebrated the February birthdays of residents at a retirement home outside of Chicago. We prepare a short program as part of this ministry.

    I have a question I was hoping you could answer concerning this website. Would it be possible for Forest Park Baptist Church to receive permission to use thoughts from one or two love-themed devotionals at this outreach event?

    Thank you in advance for your consideration of this request.

    Gratefully His,
    Angie Steinhart

  2. Angela,

    Thank you for your request. I have sent a private response to you via the email address you gave.

    Have a blessed day, and thank you for stopping by!

    Taylor

  3. This devotion is awesome and I have someone on a prayer group site that really needs to see this. Would you give me permission to post this on a prayer group site? Or how can I get this to the person who really needs this devotion?

    Thanks!

    Lynne

  4. Lynne,

    You have my permission to place this article on your prayer group site. Sorry for waiting so long to respond. I just now saw that you had left a comment. I’m glad this devotion was able to minister to you. Please feel free to use it to help anyone else you believe it could.

    God’s peace be with you!
    Taylor

  5. Could i use this devotional in a church newsletter?

    • Lori,

      Sorry I have not replied to your request. I have not been looking at this for awhile. You are most welcome to use this for your church newsleter.

      God’s peace be with you.

  6. Hi

    I am also emailing to ask permission to be able to print this article for use in Women’s groups in my church.

    Thank you

    • Hi Jenny,

      Thanks for the note! You are most welcome to use this devotion for your women’s group. Thank you for asking.

      Blessings,
      Taylor

  7. Because of the continued interest in people wishing to use this devotion, it is no longer necessary for you to ask permission. If anyone wishes, they are welcome to use this devotion in whatever way that best fits their circumstances (i.e. – print or just reading to your group). Thank you to those of you who have written and asked for permission in the past.

    I would ask that if you do choose to use this devotion that you leave a quick comment letting me know. Everyone of these notes are precious to me and encourage me to continue on with this new ministry which the Lord has granted me.

    Thank you and may God’s peace be with you,

    Taylor

    2 Cor. 6:2 “Now is the Time!”

  8. I will be using this for devotion at my MOPS group next Thursday…I really needed to read this tonight…thank you for the reminder!

    • That is great to hear. Thank you for your comment. Blessings, Taylor

  9. i’ll be using this to for our morning devotion tomorrow in time for the valentine’s day. thank you so much for this. this is such a great help. Godbless you always!

    • Thanks for the note. I’m excited that this will be helpful to you.

  10. […] –an online devotion entitled “Why We Must Love Each Other”, found at: https://sethar.wordpress.com/2007/09/01/why-we-must-love-one-another-devotional-thoughts-from-1-john-…. […]

  11. hi taylor,

    im planning to use this for my campus’ camp morning devotion. thanks for posting this and i hope this will bless those joining the camp.

    God bless!

    • Cool! Thanks for the note.

  12. Praise be to God for such a powerful devotion. I intend to post this
    to some friends.

    • Thank you for your note, and God bless! Taylor

  13. Hey there! I simply want to give you a huge thumbs up for your great information you have got here on this post.
    I will be returning to your blog for more soon.

    • Thank you for your encouraging words. I’m really not posting much lately. Way too busy, but you have encouraged me to get back to it. I might try posting a few lesson that I have taught recently. Anyhow, thank you for your thoughtful words. Have a blessed day! Taylor

  14. I really love this devotion! I plan on using this for my Church Camp devotion one night! Our theme is Love God! Love Others! and this devotion really fit!
    Thank you so much for posting this!


Leave a Reply

Categories

